Western Building: first one with a false front

With only one Cygnar model left to paint for the upcoming 1000-point game, I’ve started thinking about the Old West again. For those who have kept track, I’ve built a workshop, a livery stable, and a two-storey house, but no buildings with false fronts a la main street. Last night I gave it a spin, and I was pleasantly surprised with the results.


As you can see, I forgot to add a door handle. I tried a few new little things on this building. To speed up construction of a slatted porch step, I simply scored a piece of thick card with a knife and mounted it on a slightly smaller piece of card.


I also shingled the roof using pieces of thin card cut in irregular shapes and glued them on in a haphazard pattern.


Here’s a view of the back…


…and a view from the front (i.e. the pretty side that will attract customers)

I will add a sign when I figure out what it’s going to be. I’m pondering a secondary building – so not a law office, jail, saloon, or hotel. Maybe a gunsmith, undertaker, post office… Quite frankly, I’m open to suggestions. Leave a comment if you have any brainstorms.


Thanks for reading,
JET

This entry was posted in Assumption; Oklahoma - building an old west town, Project Diary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

